Top of page
Skip to main content
Main content


The ECAS Faculty Senate Anti-Racism Working Group was initiated in response to the serious concerns expressed by Black students, faculty, and staff regarding racism on our campus and the impact that it has on their education, teaching, scholarship and/or personal wellbeing, most recently in the Statement From the Coalition of Black Organizations and Clubs dated July 12, 2020. We recognize that as faculty members in the College, we have the responsibility and the ability to promote equity, inclusion and justice in our classrooms, research lab environments, and departments. Thus, the Working Group aims to curate a set of approaches and recommendations that can be taken to combat these challenges faced by BIPOC (Black/Indigenous/People of Color) students, faculty, and staff in the College.


Carla FreemanExecutive Associate Dean
Carol AndersonAdvisory Committee
Valerie BabbAdvisory Committee
Tayari JonesAdvisory Committee


Co-chairs: Jen HeemstraRobert Liu

Michelle GordonAfrican American StudiesHumanities
Dilek HuseyinzadeganPhilosophyHumanities
Marta JimenezPhilosophyHumanities
Dorian ArnoldComputer ScienceNatural Sciences and Math
Bree EttingerMathematicsNatural Sciences and Math
Jen HeemstraChemistryNatural Sciences and Math
Robert LiuBiologyNatural Sciences and Math
Cliff CarrubbaPolitical ScienceSocial Sciences
Tim DowdSociologySocial Sciences