Top of page
Skip to main content
Main content

Curriculum, Assessment & Educational Policy

This committee shall study and make recommendations to the faculty concerning the curriculum of Emory College, including the General Education Requirements. This committee shall:

  1. Engage in a continuing review of the Emory curriculum with the purpose of making proposals and recommendations to the entire faculty, to divisions, to departments and to interdepartmental groups as to new educational possibilities that should be investigated, duplications that should be eliminated, and other matters that would improve the quality and variety of undergraduate education of Emory College.
  2. Give final approval to the addition, deletion, and alteration of courses not affecting uniform requirements.
  3. Approve concentration programs as submitted by departments and divisions.

The committee serves as a resource to departments and programs in the continuous improvement of undergraduate programs.

The committee communicates institutional expectations for department assessment activities; promotes the integration of assessment as a natural and productive part of departmental strategic planning; reviews assessment plans and annual assessment reports; and provides constructive feedback and suggestions for improvement.

Because of the broad mandate of this committee, the chair shall divide the committee into appropriate subcommittees to accomplish its work, selecting subcommittee chairs and members from among committee members.

While subcommittees can be formed to meet any needs of the College curriculum, the chair should consider subcommittees that respond to the main charges of the committee:

  • majors and minors,
  • general education requirements,
  • academic policies, and
  • assessment.

Primary subcommittee chairs and members should be assigned by the first meeting of the committee in the fall semester.

The whole committee will meet at least once per semester.

Faculty Representatives

NameDepartmentTerm Expiration
Paul BuchholzGerman Studies2025
Linda Merrill Art History2024
Lori TeagueDance2024
Harshita KamathMiddle Eastern and South Asian Studies2023
Natural Sciences and Math
Alissa BansPhysics2025
James NagyMathematics2024
Davide FossatiComputer Science2023
Anthony MartinEnvironmental Science2023
Social Sciences
Sonal Nalkur Sociology2025
Eric Reinhardt Political Science2025
Paloma Lopez de mesa MoyanoEconomics2024
Kelli LanierEconomics2023


Joanne BrzinskiSenior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education
Jason CiejkaAssociate Dean, Office for Undergraduate Education
John LattingDean of Admissions
Valerie MolyneauxAssociate Dean, Academic Affairs, Oxford